Experimental Medications: Tetracycline Antibiotics

The tetracycline antibiotics, including minocycline and doxycycline, have immunomodulatory and neuroprotective activities. They appear to decrease the passage of lymphocytes across the blood-brain barrier. A small Phase II trial of Copaxone plus minocycline showed favorable MRI data, with minocycline decreasing gadolinium-enhancing activity by 50 percent over a period of six months. A subsequent 24-month trial showed a significant decrease in lesion activity and clinical status.

In a larger study of 305 patients called RECYCLINE, minocycline was used as an add-on to Rebif in patients with RRMS. Patients being treated with Rebif were randomized to oral placebo (n = 155) or minocycline 100 mg (n = 149) twice daily for 96 weeks. Data were presented at ECTRIMS in the fall of 2012,43 and disappointingly, minocycline did not provide significant improvement to either clinical or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) outcomes. Further studies of minocycline are not thought to be warranted.

Another Phase III trial with 200 participants looking at minocycline is still ongoing. This trial will evaluate the effect of 100 mg of oral minocycline twice daily on the conversion of clinically isolated syndrome (CIS) to a diagnosis of MS at six and 24 months. It began in January 2009 and is scheduled for completion in December 2015. It will determine whether 100 mg of oral minocycline twice daily reduces the conversion of clinically isolated syndrome (CIS) to clinically active MS and if any treatment benefit seen after six months is maintained at two years.

26 Comments

  1. I do trust all of the ideas you have presented on your post.
    They’re really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for starters. May just you please extend them a little from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

    1. Thank you very much for writing. I’m glad the information is useful blog. I hope the rest of the information also will be useful for you. Try it that way.

      A greeting.
      Jesus Santiago.

  2. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation
    but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

    1. Some post are too technical, but I think the information is important. At least we can meet the current studies and the real possibilities that exist
      The goal is to share information and that everyone can benefit from being informed.
      Thank you very much for your message.

      Jesus Santiago.

  3. Thank you for every other wonderful post. The place else could anybody
    get that type of information in such an ideal approach of writing?
    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am at the search for such information.

    1. Thank you very much. Glad you like the blog.Esoy delighted with the large number of visits received (over 3500 in 20 days). I did not expect this.
      Thanks for your encouragement.

      Jesus Santiago.

  4. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to
    and you are just too magnificent. I actually like what
    you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it
    sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

  5. I was excited to uncover this great site. I wanted to thank you for ones time just for this wonderful read!
    ! I definitely liked every little bit of it and i also have you book marked
    to look at new stuff on your website.

    1. Thank you for your words. I am encouraged to gain sufficient assurance writing and try to improve the blog within my limited knowledge. It is that together we help to have the maximum possible information.
      Thank you very much for writing

      A hug.

      Jesus Santiago

  6. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring
    a blog post or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same
    topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from
    each other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

    1. Hi, I have no problem sharing the blog. The blog was born to share information to readers Maximum posibles.To say that I have no experience in blogs, so that no way could help.
      If fashion tells me, I’ll be happy to help where possible.

      Thank you very much for writing

      A hug.

      Jesus Santiago
      susosan@gmail.com

    1. Some of the news is more extensive than others. If you see some of the suggestions from readers of the blog, I ask that the items are more extensive.
      Longest extensions’ll try mixing with other shorter articles to please the maximum so blog readers.

      Thank you very much for writing

      A hug.

      Jesus Santiago

  7. I do accept as true with all the ideas you have introduced on your post.
    They’re really convincing and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for beginners. Could you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

    1. Try on some issues putting longest post to contain more information. The reason for them is to short not to tire the readers, and who dare to read more news if they are shorter.
      In the future, if I have time, I’ll do a monograph on certain topics.

      Thank you very much for writing and for your constructive criticism to help improve the blog.

      A hug.

      Jesçus Santiago

    1. Your website and its design is fantastic. I think little podre bring to your page. If there’s something that’s worth, you can copy it without problem.

      Thanks for writing.

      A hug.

      Jesus Santiago.

    1. Thank you very much for your comment. Take this opportunity to tell you,Because I had to change the housing of the Blog, you can follow the updates on the new blog I’ve created: http://blogesclerosismultiple.com/ You will have all old news, as well as the all commentary and old files at your disposal in the new blog. Thank you very much and forgive the inconvenience that you may cause. See you in http://blogesclerosismultiple.com/.

      Thank you for reading.

Responder

